What is the Statute of Limitations for Birth Injury Cases in Virginia?
http://www.shevlinsmith.com There is a statute of limitations, or deadline to file a case, for cases involving minors in medical malpractice cases in Virginia. A parent has 5 years to bring forth a claim to request reimbursement for medical expenses incurred while treating the injury while the child has 10 years to file a suit. Parents can also submit an emotional distress claim but they only have 2 years to do so. If you believe that you or your child has been injured in a potential medical malpractice case, you shouldn’t wait to speak with an attorney. While there are some exceptions to every statute of limitations, it is not something you want to risk. If you find that you have any questions or would like to arrange your free consultation, give us a call anytime at 703-591-0067.