When You Have Been Injured,Your Attorney's Experience Matters

  1. Home
  2.  — 
  3. Traffic Accidents
  4.  — Virginia Statute Of Limitations: Time Limits Victims Of Car Accidents Have To File Injury Claims

Virginia Statute Of Limitations: Time Limits Victims Of Car Accidents Have To File Injury Claims

On Behalf of | Oct 31, 2015 | Traffic Accidents

After being in any type of
car accident—from a serious rollover to a minor fender bender — injuries
and losses can arise. Consequently, innocent victims are often left to
recover from their physical injuries as well as deal with the financial
effects of the wreck. This is why most victims who are injured in car
accidents find it beneficial to pursue a personal injury claim in order
to recover the compensation they need and deserve.

Don’t Wait Too Long To File a Personal Injury Claim

Because many people don’t fully know the extent of their injuries
or because some people just want to put their injuries and the crash behind
them, they wait too long to file personal injury claims. Unfortunately,
when people wait too long, they can forever lose their chance of being
able to make a financial recovery for any of their pain, suffering, medical
expenses, lost income, and other losses.

So that you don’t miss out on your chances of filing an injury claim
after an auto accident, it is essential to learn about the time limits
you have to bring a claim against the responsible party. These time limits
are known as statutes of limitations, and the statutes in every state differ.

Statute of Limitations in Virginia – 2 Years

Statutes of limitations are essentially the amount of time you have to
file a lawsuit for your injury claim. Virginia law allows victims of car
2 years from the date of the collision to file a claim against the negligent person for injuries and losses. This amount of time
is also the same for families who have lost a loved one in a collision.
Affected families will have two years from the date their loved one died
to file a lawsuit for the wrongful death of their family member.

Statute of Limitations in Washington, D.C – 3 Years

In other states, victims of car crashes have different time limits per
their state statute. In Washington D.C., for example,
victims of collisions are actually allotted 3 years from the date of their wreck to bring a claim against the responsible party.

Get Help From a Virginia Car Accident Attorney

Because there are always exceptions, we encourage victims of collisions
to check with us sooner rather than later about the amount of time they
will have to file a claim. So that any chance of making a financial recovery
isn’t ruined, please don’t wait too long to give us a call.
Our Fairfax office phone number is 703-721-4233. You may also
contact us here to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case

Also, we encourage you to share this information with others you know via
Facebook or Google+. You never know who among your friends may be recovering
from a car accident-related injury and needs this information.